Roman Benedict is a British-Australian composer and arranger. He studied at the University of Sydney before a masters at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, then hung around in London for a decade to see what happened – since then, his compositions and arrangements have been performed in Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Europe and Asia, and broadcast on radio and online. His orchestral arrangements have been played by The Hallé, the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Britten Sinfonia, and education projects in the UK and Australia. He released his first album of string quartets, Eventide, in 2015, a second album, Music to Ignore: Works for Solo Piano in 2020, and in 2021 released a single – Foghorn Lullabies.

Selected Works


  • Night Walk (2018) – Work for Narrator and Chamber Orchestra
  • Fishing Tune (2016) – Based on traditional Chinese tune for China tours of The Halle, Britten Sinfonia and the Sydney Symphony
  • Jumping the Groove (2014) – Concerto for Violin, strings and percussion, won APRA/AMCOZ Encouragement Award

Chamber Music

  • Side Hustle (2021) – for recorder sextet
  • Foghorn Lullabies (2021) – For piano, strings and foghorns
  • Music to Ignore (2020) – Works for Solo Piano
  • The Alarming Spread of Poetry (2019) – for Actor and pierrot ensemble on text by PG Wodehouse
  • Eventide (2015) – Fantasia on Abide With Me for String Quartet and Electronics
  • Un/Winding (2013) – instrumental work workshopped by Chroma Ensemble
  • Entanglement (2012) – piano duet and percussion
  • Four (2011) – Viola quartet in three movements, won ANZVS composition competition


  • All We Like Sheep (2018) –  commissioned by Leichardt Espresso Chorus, re-imagining of Handel’s Messiah
  • Agnus Dei (2014) – Work for SATB choir and organ commissioned for a Catholic funeral service
  • Vox-Box (2013) – a new vocal work for mezzo soprano, violin and viola, premiered at Wigmore Hall
  • Mass (2010) – Choral Mass, won PALM awards peoples choice

Musical Theatre

  • The House of Worth (2020 workshop, in development) – book/lyrics by Rebecca Simmonds
  • Blind Date New Song Competition (2015) – Iris Theatre
  • New songwriting collaborations at Central School of Speech and Drama and Goldsmiths, University of London, Book Music & Lyrics Workshop London


  • Urza and the Song in the Dark (2018) – Matriark Theatre Co. Co-composed with Kathryn Parker
  • Twelfth Night (2013) – Silk St Theatre dir. Patsy Rodenberg
  • Giving Space (2013) – The Place, contemporary dance collaboration with Joseph Toonga
  • Hamlet (2012) – Zenith Theatre dir. Paul Eastway
  • The 39 Steps (2011) – Sydney Fringe Festival, dir. Pierce Wilcox
  • Sarah Ruhl’s Eurydice (2009) – Verge Arts Festival dir. Pierce Wilcox


  • 2014, FineMusicFM/Willoughby Symphony Composition Prize, AMCOZ Encouragement Award
  • 2013, Australian and New Zealand Viola Society Composition Competition, First Prize, Ensemble
  • 2013, Ars Musica Australis, Fellowship
  • 2011, PALM Awards, Classical Music People’s Choice winner
  • 2008 Frank Albert Prize for Music


Production Music

Roman has written jingles and underscores for podcasts and theatre. Examples can be found on his soundcloud, with more information coming soon about production music for sale and use – contact me for more info!